Dean of Arts and Dean of Education appointed

Useful Links
Contact Information
Contact Person: Sheila Kerry, Media Relations and Communications Officer
Department: Integrated Communications
Phone: (902) 566-0760
Posted on Friday, 22 August 2014

The University of Prince Edward Island’s Board of Governors recently accepted the recommendations of the search committee for the Dean of Arts and the Dean of Education positions. Interim Deans Dr. Neb Kujundzic and Dr. Ron MacDonald were successfully appointed as the Dean of Arts and Dean of Education respectively.

“I look forward to working with Neb and Ron on a number of initiatives that will continue to enhance the overall student experience in both the Faculties of Arts and Education,” said Vice-President Academic Dr. Christian Lacroix. “Our University community as a whole will benefit from their experience and strong leadership abilities.”

In 1995, Kujundzic received his PhD in Philosophy from the University of Waterloo. Kujundzic came to UPEI in 1997 as an assistant professor of philosophy, before becoming an associate professor in 2003, and Interim Dean of Arts in 2013. He is a member of the UPEI Board of Governors and the UPEI Senate. He also held positions on the UPEI Presidential Hiring Committee, the University Review Committee, and the Research Advisory Committee. Kujundzic was also Chair of UPEI’s Department of Philosophy from 1998–2004.

In 2006, MacDonald received his PhD from the University of South Australia. MacDonald joined UPEI’s Faculty of Education in 2005 on a term appointment before becoming an assistant/associate professor in 2006, and Interim Dean of Education in 2013. MacDonald has a variety of publications including four book chapters, 39 papers in refereed conferences, and eight invited contributions/technical reports. MacDonald has also been heavily involved in external research funding projects, including his most recent role as a principal investigator on project-based learning (PBL).

Both Kujundzic and MacDonald will begin their new roles for six-year terms effective September 1, 2014—June 30, 2020. Congratulations, Dr. Kujundzic and Dr. MacDonald.